Groups

From the Delta Chat FAQ.

Groups

Groups let several people chat together privately with equal rights.

Anyone can change the group name or avatar, add or remove members, set disappearing messages, and delete their own messages from all member’s devices.

Because all members have the same rights, groups work best among trusted friends and family.

Creation of a group

Add and remove members

All group members have the same rights. For this reason, everyone can delete any member or add new ones.

QR code and invite link can be used to add several members. However, since groups are meant for trusted people, avoid sharing them publicly.

I have deleted myself by accident.

As you’re no longer a group member, you cannot add yourself again. However, no problem, just ask any other group member in a normal chat to re-add you.

I do not want to receive the messages of a group any longer.

As an alternative, you can also “Mute” a group - doing so means you get all messages and can still write, but are no longer notified of any new messages.

Cloning a group

You can duplicate a group to start a separate discussion or to exclude members without them noticing.

The new group is fully independent from the original, which continues to work as before.

How many members can participate in a single group?

There is no strict technical limit, but more than 150 is not recommended.

As groups get larger, they can become socially unstable and may need a hierarchy - where Delta Chat is a private messenger for chatting with equal rights. See Dunbar’s number for more insights.